Paweł „Ozzie” Granecki

vocal, guitar

Andrzej „Messi” Archanowicz


Krzysztof „Krzychu” Słaby


Robert „R.i.P.” Pełka

bass guitar

Tomasz „Kudel” Kudelski



The band Love De Vice was formed in 2007 under the name ‘Playfinger’ by a bunch of friends playing together from time to time since 1993 (as ‘Helter Skelter’): Andrzej Archanowicz (guitar, vocals), Tomasz Kudelski (drums) and Robert Pełka (bass, vocals).

The line-up included also Robert Wieczorek on guitar and Krzysztof Słaby on keyboards. After couple of months of rehearsing in February 2008 ‘Playfinger’ contracted DBX Studio for recording session of the band’s first few songs.


The debut album ‘Dreamland’ has been released on June 15th, 2009 under the independent Blackfield Media label and distributed by Mystic Production what enabled to reach shelves of the leading Polish music shops throughout the country. Due to the ‘Antyfest’ results ‘Dreamland’ has been granted media patronage of Antyradio and ‘Once You Were (A Giant)’ spent 3 months on ‘Turbo Top 20’ charts, being No. 1 for 2 weeks (and Top 5 for the whole September 2009).

Thanks to nationwide distribution and radio promotion the band’s first album was noticed and well received by the music media, including i.a. ‘Teraz Rock’ (the most popular Polish rock music monthly) and many other positive reviews in Poland and even abroad, all of them pointing out the freshness of the sound combined with the band’s commitment to the hardrock and progrock roots of the 1970s (specifically Deep Purple and Pink Floyd). The band played live on the radio and TV, giving numerous interviews. The songs from the debut album have been also noticed and played by many radio stations including i.a. Polskie Radio (public radio).

Love De Vice surprised by warm receipt of ‘Dreamland’ were now motivated to continue work on the second studio album containing songs written and played live since ‘Dreamland’ release. The material to be recorded was much richer with acoustic and classical instruments present in nearly every song.

Despite the band’s plans to release its second album as soon as possible the recording sessions turned out to be more time-consuming than previously expected due to differences in artistic vision between the authors and other band members plus simply the complexity of the music and demanding multitrack mixing. Keyboard lines were recorded with substantial involvement of ex-Riverside Jacek Melnicki (the keyboard player, owner of DBX Studio and sound engineer responsible for Love De Vice albums) as Krzysztof Słaby was at the time absorbed more by personal issues leading finally to his departure from Love De Vice the following year.


Musically the second album ‘Numaterial’ was a step forward for the band as nearly all songs have developed from ideas into final studio versions with the whole band present to take part in the working process.

The work itself however differed as concerns particular songs. On one hand evolution of ‘Letter In ‘A’ Minor’ brought by Robert Pełka, with added instrumental passages become polyphonic mini suite that may be heard on the record, is example of band’s improvisational skills, on the other hand ‘With You Now’ composed by Paweł Granecki and arranged by Jacek Melnicki brings the new approach adopted later during 3rd album sessions, as the song was recorded with reduced involvement of the band (the guitar solo by Andrzej Archanowicz and Jelonek violin touches shall be however noted as it brought much space and delicacy into the song).

On ‘Numaterial’ as a whole the band managed to overcome differences and reach a sort of compromise between simple melodic hardrock (‘Cold Sun Goodbye’, ‘Hermit’, ‘Love Or Illusion’) and prog-inspired and more complex music (‘Megiddo’, ‘Heavy Cross’ and ‘Letter In ‘A’ Minor’). Due to personal changes in the band’s line-up and growing ability to show more ambitious aspirations that balance was soon to be over in favor of more progrock-orientated music. The band invited guest musicians for ‘Numaterial’ sessions and the guests became a firm part of the album. Michał Jelonek on violin, Tomasz ‘Ragaboy’ Osiecki on sitar and MEART Korean drum duo brought a classical-oriental spice to the songs and in result the record as a whole was a step aside from the style of the debut ‘Dreamland’ and a manifest of ongoing search for something new in Love De Vice music.

As Jacek Melnicki had great influence on the studio versions of keyboard lines, the change in the music was inevitable, logical consequence of musical development and growing artistic ambitions of the band.

Silesian Night

At the same time the band commenced talks with Metal Mind Productions planning to contract the band for a concert in Katowice together with Krzak and Cree. The show was to be recorded for DVD/CD release. Indeed Love De Vice played at the Silesian Wyspiański Theater in Katowice on November 11th, 2011. The band’s concert included 6 new songs scheduled for the 3rd album and 3 songs from ‘Numaterial’ (‘Megiddo’, ‘With You Now’ and ‘Letter In ‘A’ Minor’) and was very well received by the audience.

Love De Vice played with guest appearances of Tomasz ‘Ragaboy’ Osiecki (already cooperating during ‘Numaterial’ sessions) on acoustic guitar and dilruba and Mateusz Szmyt of the National Philharmonic Orchestra on cello, notably also with the vocalist Paweł Granecki on rhythm guitar. DVD was released on October 8 2012 titled Silesian Night 11.11.11. DVD received favorable reviews throughout the world.

Silesian Night presented the most progressive vision of Love De Vice style with floydian influences clearly seen on such a songs as Another Day, Frosty Morning or Say No.

Concert also seen cover version of Deep Purple classic When a Blind Man Cries in the group own arrangement. Harder rock edge with classical influences was presented in dynamic Winter of Soul which is the only song which will make its .

Following release of live DVD the group decided that there is no artistic point to release studio album with the songs already issued in live form, and it was decided to compose new songs.
In august 2014 former keyboard player Krzysztof Słaby decided to reunite with the band what gave the group additional energy to complete the long awaited third studio album.


Group decided to cooperate with Jacek Szabrański (former member of polish indie alternative rock band The Car is on Fire) as producer of the yet untitled third album.

Album that group decided to call Pills was recorded in Sonus Studio under supervision of Andrzej Karp produced by Jacek Szabrański. In the studio group was supported by many guest musicians Fair Play Quartet, which provided inter alia striking strings for the title track Pills (arranged by Maciej Caputa), brass section, and young uprising vocalist Kasia Granecka – sister of Love De Vice singer Paweł Granecki.
Album was mixed and mastered by Marcin Gajko.

On Friday 24 June 2016 album Pills was released under Fonografika label.
On this day Love De Vice played first concert in five years in Warsaw Stodoła students club.

Pills is promoted by singles Afraid and Best of Worlds which band released in form of lyric’s video on its own you tube channel.